Iconic wheelchair road race celebrates ‘25 years on the road’

2014 marked the 25th anniversary for the iconic GIO Oz Day 10K wheelchair road race, hosted by Wheelchair Sports NSW, held on the streets of The Rocks on Australia Day.

To kick off celebrations, The Hon John Ajaka (Minister for Disability Services) officially welcomed all athletes at a Premiers Reception at Government House on January 23rd

The Oz Day 10K is the only 10km wheelchair road race in Australia, featuring the world’s top wheelchair road racers. Aussie athletes competed across all race categories on January 26 with Kurt Fearnley OAM (NSW) finishing 2nd in the Men’s Open Category.

In celebration of “25 Years on the Road” GIO have helped to create a mini documentary on the Race, click here to watch.

Pictured - Left to right back row: Jim Longley (Chief Executive, Dept. Aging, Disability and Home Care), Chris McHugh (Exe. G.M. Statutory Portfolio & Underwriting Management, GE Commercial Insurance – GIO representative for the speeches), Jim O’Brien (CEO, WS NSW), the Hon John Ajaka (Minister for Disability Services) and David Piper OAM (Chair WS NSW)

Front row: Louise Sauvage OAM (winner of the Oz Day 10K ten times), Craig Blanchette (USA, winner of the first Oz Day 10K), Ingrid Lauridsen (DEN, winner of the first Oz Day 10K (women’s division)) and Kurt Fearnley OAM (nine time winner of the Oz Day 10K– so far!)